Next Up: Yoga

Everyone has been telling me that it’s inadvisable to run every day, and further, that I’ll hurt myself if I do it.

Counterpoint: It isn’t like I’m running long distances and I’m not at risk for damaging my joints because of weight-bearing or anything.

That being said, I’ve got no interest in damaging myself! I’ve come way too far to have a painful or suffering-inducing setback.

And so: Yoga.

On my not-running-days.

I bought two DVDs — p90x yoga, which I’ve done before with my mom, and Karen Voight yoga, which I’ve also done with my mom. The p90x is super long but a really good workout, and the KV can be broken into shorter pieces and is very instructive.

I’m hoping to do the longer one when I have a chance, and the shorter one when I have less of a chance.

So I got a yoga mat, and a yoga towel in case I start slipping on the mat, and I’m ready to give it a whirl.

Anybody have tips for beginning yogis? I’m open to suggestions!

One thought on “Next Up: Yoga

  1. Hi love bug. I LOVE yoga. So relaxing, and such a great workout for your body and mind. I prefer a vinyasa yoga, which is a constant “flow,” so I really sweat while doing it (thank goodness for yoga towels), which is a nice change from running (I also alternate days.) I’ve been doing it for about 4 years now, and I find that I need it more for my mental health than physical health (although it helps that, too!) so I hope you have a wonderful time with it. It’s easy to let your mind wander and be distracted on other things, but after awhile of practicing and reminding yourself to focus on breathing (I actually say to myself, “Breath in, one, two, three, breath out one, two, three,”- or whatever the count is), it suddenly becomes so natural to just practice and enjoy what you’re doing instead of thinking about what you did earlier in the day or what you’ll do later in the day. If you’re really enjoying it, try a hot class sometime! Just make sure you’re well hydrated beforehand. 🙂 xo

Leave a Reply

