Tofu: How Did I Not Know?

I have a new love.

It is tofu.

Cue all the non-vegetarians bitching about how terrible tofu is.

Cue me not listening.

I have seen the light and it is high protein, low carb, and all delicious.

Now, I know what you’re wondering: hasn’t she had tofu before?

The answer: Of course I have. Any good gay lady worth her wool socks has dated (or is) a vegetarian or vegan at some point. Requirement is usually at least one year of meatless living to advance to full-on Pride Lyfe.

And yes, those girls all cooked tofu for me.

But they cooked tofu the way College Me cooked anything other than tofu: AKA, they were terrible at it. Their tofu was not much to sniff at. Neither was anything else I made, though, in their defense.

So I’ve never REALLY had GOOD tofu.

Until recently.

The other night, I was at Wegman’s picking up some things when I decided to make Chelsea and I each a salad bar salad as a treat. I did mostly greens, some veggies, none of the grain salads or anything. Then, I saw some herbed tofu. Something possessed me to want to try some, so I did. Two scoops.

Went home, at my salad/tofu, fell in love.

Tofu is, apparently, a WW power food. It’s high protein, low carb, and medium fat — aka the perfect blend of punch per point. It comes in various forms, can go in almost anything, can be cooked about a million ways.

Of course, my vegetarian friends already know this. To them, I say, ADD THIS TO THE LIST OF KALE, QUINOA AND NUTRITIONAL YEAST.

I legit no longer trust the vegetarians and vegans in my life because they keep all these hugely delicious secrets from me.

In any event: Sunday night, I made tofu for the first time.

Me pressing the tofu was a hot mess/disaster of epic proportions. I mean, it got done, but I looked ridiculous probably.

I made oven-baked Italian herb tofu and topped a salad with it.

And I made it from scratch.

And it was delicious.

And it was 7 PP for each portion.

And now all I wanna do is try new tofu recipes forever.

I saw a tofu Parmesan that involved nutritional yeast… And y’all KNOW how I feel about that ish.

It’s only a matter of time before I start a daily tofu pressing regimen in my kitchen, perhaps even buying a tofu press.

Yes, I am carried away with the delight of it all and yes, I know. And yes, I lack a single care about it.

If YOU had the tofu I made Sunday night, you’d be excited too.

Hmph.

Leave a Reply

