A Post That’s Not About Food.

Why?

Because sometimes it’s good (many times, it is good) to remember that life is bigger than any of its dimensions standing alone.

I don’t want to talk about food today, except to say that my chocolate protein powder smoothies taste like milkshakes and it’s like getting to eat dessert for breakfast.

I do want to say that last night, we watched the most recent Pretty Little Liars and I really hope EzrA isn’t a Red Herring — I hate him, have always hated him, and hope he’s a Bad Guy, even if that means Aria is bad too/they’re working together. At the same time, I will be equally livid if the entire show is comprised of Aria being crazy somehow (or Ezra being crazy somehow) and this is their Beautiful, Dark, Twisted Fantasy.

I do want to say that I’m pleased I made a Kanye West joke just now, because I hate Kanye.

I do want to say that Chelsea and I have a theory, but are unsure — Allie faked her death/went into witness protection, perhaps? We only think this because we feel certain Papa Hastings is involved and that there’s a legal dimension to why she’s missing, not just a shady Board Shorts one.

I do want to say that I’m excited for tomorrow and this weekend; Chelsea is taking me to see Dar Williams (my very favorite) in Albany tomorrow night, and then we are going to Steepletop (the home of my favorite anythingever, Edna St. Vincent Millay) for the very first time in my entire life, though I have wanted to go since I was a little kid.

I do want to say that I’m wearing my white steel-toed combat boots today and while I love them, they make my feet weigh like ten million pounds.

I do want to say that Tag (my cat) has a chin that’s so pink, and so sweet, it puts the tiny toes of babies to shame.

I do want to say that I’m really, really, really tired today. I had nightmares all night.

I do want to say that while right now, I feel too tired to go teach, I just KNOW my students will turn my day around and make me feel blessed. Because they’re wonderful so far, and they’re making this semester a great one.

I do want to say that I’m so proud of Chelsea for getting an interview with the MSW program — I would bet all my money that she’ll get in!

I do want to say that, regarding my own education, turns out I’m more on track than I’d previously believed. Had a conversation with one of my professors re: field exams and dissertation stuff, and I am not off the beaten path at all. Quite the opposite.

I do want to say that even though I spend all my time in this blog preoccupied with weight loss and cooking, it’s good to remember that I’m a person with thoughts and feelings and a life beyond this stuff.

That’s all.

Leave a Reply

