Nutritional Yeast: My Current Personal Savior

Um. guys.

We need to talk about nutritional yeast.

WHY HAVEN’T ANY OF YOU TOLD ME OF ITS EXISTENCE BEFORE?

There I was, looking for new ways to season Kale chips, when I see some vegan person mention nutritional yeast. The name, yes, sounds disgusting.

BUT THIS ISH TASTES LIKE CHEETOS.

And is 1 PP for a quarter cup.

AND DID I MENTION TASTES LIKE CHEETOS?

Apparently, I can use it to make cheese sauces, season stuff with it, pour it into my mouth like it’s candy… Ok, I’m not really doing the last one but the urge is strong. (Quick: where’s my Kale? I need nutrients STAT so this feeling never comes back because it’s too all-powerful ugh why me ugh but it’s so cheesy ugh)

Tonight I’m gonna make some Kale chips with this stuff as the seasoning. I’ll report back.

PS:  I’ve found that vegans and vegetarians have SUCH VIBRANCY in their food! Some of the best and most interesting recipes I’m finding, not to mention the most satisfying, not to mention the most nutritious, have either very little meat or no meat at all. And yes, these recipes still pack a TON of protein. It’s so interesting and so exciting to explore. So thanks, veganfolk, for nutritional yeast — the most delicious surprise of late.

3 thoughts on “Nutritional Yeast: My Current Personal Savior

    1. Hi there!

      Doesn’t it just sound like miracle powder?! I was so surprised it exists. I found some at Wegman’s, and then also at a local health food store. I wouldn’t be surprised if a supplement store like GNC had some, too. I’m not sure what brands/stores exist near you, but any place that has an organic section will almost definitely have it. And for what it’s worth, I found it way cheaper ($5.30 for a tub of it) at the health food store, where prices are usually high, compared to the Wegman’s price (a surprising $7.99 for a kind of smallish bag).

      I will say, though, not to be worried about price and quantity. It seems that a little goes a long way, and that the tub I bought should last me a long time!

Leave a Reply

